Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc.
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Louis Porter Jr. Design Haven: City of Violence Polymecha
Image Portfolio
D20 Shakespeare Lost Classes Modern Day Maps



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:31:06

This was just sort of WTF? I even had the chance to playtest this, our group submitted our feedback saying it was off, and nothing was fixed. It just doesn't fit with the rest of the season, if you got rid of the Innocent and the Raven, you would have a much better flow to the overall storyline, When I ran season 4, I almost skipped this one, but I was after that season completion, so I ran it anyway. Avoid if possible.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL04-08 The Broken One (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:25:45

Out of the NPCs from season 4, few are as Memorable as Luca. Fewer still are the adventures where you can actually avoid most of the fighting... but the broken one stands as one of those few. The final boss is pretty amazingly disturbing and this adventure leads well into the subsequent one, unlike some of the later adventures Cough the raven Cough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-08 The Broken One (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL04-14 The Darklord (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:20:17

For the culminating adventure, it was a bit underwhelming. The first bit of exposition and the first combat counter were pretty amazing. The castle was a bit meh, if you are going to make her have minions, make the minions relevent, don't just give her garbage and expect her to be memorable. The horseman would have made a better "final boss" than the Darklord. I will say if you switch out her minions for something that actually makes sense, say npc's from volos? Then you have one hell of a fight, but as it is written the entire thing is pretty lame.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-14 The Darklord (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL04-13 The Horseman (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:16:16

Why? Why did you make the greatest boss fight out of any module I have played or ran (I have played or ran pretty much everything to include available CCCs and Baldman Games), and put him into a disposeable story. It would have been so easy to build up this fight, foreshadow stuff in earlier adventures, just someone mentioning in passing, hey there is this headless horseman dude. But no, instead you create one of the most memorable characters and fights and make him barely relevent to the overall storyline except for the out of the blue thing that he has that the party needs.

If you get the chance to play this, I would definitely recommend it, but I would just note that it doesn't make a whole lot of sense within the overall season 4 storyline.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-13 The Horseman (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL04-12 The Raven (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:11:25

Skip it, it is like the person who wrote this module had no idea what was going on with the rest of the season and just did his own thing following the few guidelines given. There is a touch of story tie in, but the later modules have ways to explain not having done this quest and still having access to those story things. It isn't worth the time to play, it has a forgettable story and frustrating combats.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-12 The Raven (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL04-09 The Tempter (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:08:45

One of my favorite modules out of all seasons, decent role-play, decent combat, enduring consequences for player decisions. It has a little bit of everything, but still does it well. I would recommend this for almost any group were it not for the fact that it will get your character trapped in barovia and wind up either costing you downtime to get out, or it will take playing one of the later adventures. Still worth the play though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-09 The Tempter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:06:02

A more investigational type adventure, with all the experience really tied to one brutal combat. Be careful to note the APL and how to scale as it is nearly impossible to have a very strong party. I Looked at the adventure wrong and I wound up killing everyone in the final fight. It is a decent module to play with a very popular reward.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-12 Bad Business in Parnast (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2017 02:01:19

I won't say so much as to spoil the mod, but it can be very combat light, and there are several twists and turns that have thrown off every group I have seen play through. I like puzzle mods, but for puzzle mods it only takes one person to spoil it for everyone.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-02 The Redemption of Kelvan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2017 23:11:30

I agree with some of the balance issues previously mentioned. Also soul knife does not fit in with the rest of this class and seems like an afterthought.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Unearthed Arcana: The Mystic Class (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
by Preston H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2017 16:48:47

If it concerns you, I do spoil some of the endgame information of the module, so be warned.

I think this really is one of the best starting adventures for D&D. You get a town, a mystery, some wilderness exploration, and some not-too-big dungeon crawls. This being an older adventure for 1e, it will require some not insignificant fixes and tweaks. You'll need to figure out stats for NPCs like Father Abramo, Misha Devi, the evil monks, and others, and you'll need to make some serious tweaks to either the 1e spirit naga or the 5e spirit naga to make the final fight both fair and challenging. Fortunately, conversions do exist online that you can use to aid this process.

Additionally, the module probably will have more magic items than your players will know what to do with if you leave it unchanged. While I don't think you should excise them all, as I think even low level player characters should have a handful of interesting magic items in order to evoke excitement and awe at the world's magic, I would advise that one exercise a smidgen caution about how many items they leave in.

Finally, I remain wary of any module that recommends that a high level NPC tag along with the party, as Against the Cult of the Reptil God does with Ramne. However, when I ran the module I was able to simply leave Ramne out (well, the party found him dead, killed by the cult), and they were still able to successfully maneuver the lair of the reptile god. The module even has recommendations on what tweaks to make if the party goes without Ramne.

Overall, Against the Cult of the Reptile God is a great starting adventure, and I'd recommend it to any DM interested in taking the time to work with the module to make it function for 5e (unless you're running a game of AD&D, in which case you're good to go and more power to you). Make the module yours, and you and your party will have a good chance of having a great adventure with a little intrigue, a good heart, and plenty of adventure and danger!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
N1 Against the Cult of the Reptile God (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
by JEFFREY C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/22/2017 16:30:12

I ran this for the first time a week ago and my party had a great time! I do appreciate that there was consequences for just going in and murdering everything and stealing all the treasure. The undead encounters are fun as well as the final room. The module is a bit more combat centric but people had a great time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-04 Dues for the Dead (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 23:49:09

I really enjoyed this Tier 4 mod. My party, and I, thought the fights were a little lackluster, especially the end, but the flow of the adventure was well paced. I wish there were more (recent) tier 4 mods like this for AL.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-19 Eye of Xxiphu (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
by Adam G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 23:46:06

I really enjoyed running this for my table. Although I think the descriptions on how they got from one room to another, the encounters were amazing, the story was great, and my party had an excellent time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-11 Oubliette of Fort Iron (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Anthony J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 19:12:46

This was my first AL Module I have ever DM'd. I really liked the ease of setup that was involved using the maps that this came with. The files were easy for me to use on Roll20 as a DM, and the storyline was easy enough to follow. I believe this module can kill parties that are overly cautious, when I ran it my group was a "Very Strong" Party and bum rushed through the Kobold caves so they never were in danger of getting sniped much. The final boss and his fireball did outright kill one PC (Lvl 1 PC) and knocked two others unconcious. For non-very strong parties, this module may have a very difficult ending if they don't spread out. Good module overall, I plan to run this again!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2017 17:27:12

Took another group through this last night. I have been struck by how great this adventure is. It's an excelent start for Level 1 adventurers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2719 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG