Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc.
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Louis Porter Jr. Design Haven: City of Violence Polymecha
Image Portfolio
D20 Shakespeare Lost Classes Modern Day Maps



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Kevin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2017 23:02:29

I have run this adventure 3 times and it has taken about 2 hours to run most of the time. I have had first time players at my table each time balanced with a few higher level tier 1's and it has run smoothly. I had one party insist on going to Blastingdale first and I may have missed it but I don't see a whole lot of direction for what to do in Blastingdale. Otherwise it's great and will surly run it a few more times this season at least.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL06-01 A Thousand Tiny Deaths (5e)
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2017 14:22:10

Very fun adventure. The first encounter is a little easy if you have someone with a sleep spell so I would unleash the wolves if you have someone like this in the party. The pacing was very fast which is needed if you want to finish in a few hours. The dungeon was rather uninteresting with a few traps and a little flavor but nothing that would make the players go OOOOOOO!! The encounters are what makes this adventure fun and exciting. There was some good humor in the adventure that will keep your PC's smiling. Throw out a skunk and watch them squirm. The ending can be a bit deadly so show a little restraint but it is also a good way to make them feel mortal by knocking a few PC's unconscious and watch them squirm. I ran this as an official Adventurers League adventure so I had to keep players on track to finish it in about 2.5 hours. I would recommend this adventure. Grab your torch and silly putty and show them Kobolds what for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2017 08:56:52

This was my introduction to being a DM. It was well put together and my players absolutely loved it. It had few NPCs but they were so well done. The combat was great and it was challenging for the players without being Dark Souls level of difficult. Very awesome. I intend to follow this story for quite awhile.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 18:05:22

Awesome adventure to start newer players with, even the more experience players enjoyed the middle section. The mansion seemed a little disorganized but over all a good time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-02 Embers of Elmwood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX2-15 Black Heart of Vengeance (5e)
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 18:02:55

My players and I enjoyed the great mystery that was involved to get the final solution. It wasn't challenging combat wise, although one player was petrified. The only thing missing is the stats for the earth cultist. Other than that the story is very well written and would love to play it again for different players to see how to figure everything out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX2-15 Black Heart of Vengeance (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX1-05 The Courting of Fire (5e)
by Jeffrey F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 11:05:45

DDEX 1-5 The Courting of Fire is an average adventure with two main parts.

The first part covers being hired for the job of tracking a thief and finding out the information on where the thief has gone. The section has many interesting locations that are familiar to players that have played previous Adventure League Season One modules but for players who haven't it can be tough to get them to find the information they need, and to make sure they get enough information to be successful.

The second part is the meat of the adventure and starts when the players arrive at their destination. This is a basic dungeon crawl. Nothing really jumps out as interesting. The non-player characters are a bit bland and the monsters are common monster but not used in ways that make them interesting.

Overall it's an average adventure that is adaptable for home play and is ok in Adventure League use when your players are more familiar with Season One and the plotline and locales in Phlan.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-05 The Courting of Fire (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Jeffrey F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 09:25:15

DDAL 5-02 The Black Road is a great adventure with roughly 5 major parts.

The first part is the introduction and the hiring phase for the player characters. It is simple, quick, and allows a fun amount of roleplaying. It serves it's purpose rather well. It serves it's point well to get the players onto the escort mission.

The second part in the adventure is a night time raid. It's a very basic attack from a common foe that with less blood thirsty groups can provide a nice foreshadowing of things to come. It's not overly complicated and is an quick enjoyable fight.

This can be followed by an optional roleplaying encounter, that due to time constraints I've never run. Though it seems as if it could be rather enjoyable and the information provided could help the players make decisions later on.

The third major part is a battle against the environment. This scene is a cinematic skill challenge that not only helps foreshadow information in the future, but foreshadows information about the entire season of AL adventures. It is a quick skill challenge but one that is easy DC but holds risk for failure.

Next we have the major encounter of the adventure where the players finally get to confront their adversaries. This is a great part because it has several options, that while all will eventually lead to a combat, it does so in an organic and believable way.

Lastly we have the wrap up where the players get their rewards for success which is a simple but potentially fun scene.

Overall The Black Road is a fun adventure. It's great for Adventure League play as while only a two hour long adventure it provides a good amount of xp at a fair amount of risk. It also has options on stretching out the roleplaying if the group has time to play longer. For home play The Black Road is good but could need a lot of small tweaks to fit into a campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
by Jeffrey F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 09:06:27

DDEX 1-2 Secrets of Sokol Keep is a good adventure that consists of three parts.

The first part seeds the adventure's hook to the players and provides some interesting options for roleplaying. It works well as an introduction to later events and allows a good bit of wiggle room for groups to make their own choices about their motives for adventure.

The second part is the meat of the investigation. It provides several different locals and non-player characters for the group to explore and interact with. The non-player characters are interesting enough to be fun to roleplay and the investigation of the locales is pretty simple so it won't pose a huge challenge but doesn't run the risk of stopping the adventure either.

The third part is a short dungeon crawl that is fun and can be challenging. It's very basic in the choice of enemies but it leads up to a good moral dilemma that can be enjoyable for groups.

Overall Secrets of Sokol Keep is a good adventure. For Adventure League play this adventure stays true to the xp rewarded at the end giving the players a fiar challenge for the xp rewarded and awarding a good amount of quest xp for the missions. Flaw wise even though the XP budget is fair for the risk, it's a little low for a four hour suggested play time and fits more into the awards that a two hour adventure should award.

For home play this adventure is good as it is easily adaptable for many different hooks and provides a fun adventure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-02 Secrets of Sokol Keep (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 03:55:54

Don't be fooled, this isn't a four hour adventure, because it leans heavily on the 3 pillars of D&D. It is at its heart a dungeon crawl spiced up with all the dead and wild magic zones, but it leaves plenty of room for socialization as well. The secret missions and the tablets really do a good job of fleshing out the giant lore, though given the time constraints might be lost in the rush to finish the module. The map can be confusing but the final fight can be very entertaining, but challenging all the same.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-11 Forgotten Traditions (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 03:48:35

Since this is a four hour Tier 1 adventure, it gave itself room to breath and allows players to thoroughly experience the 3 pillars of D&D on a more complex level. Finding and getting to Ettin's camp was fun. The puzzles were particularly engaging. But I feel the most fun you can have in this adventure is the gauntlet of challenges the players must overcome in order to earn the Ettin's trust. If you had time to prep you could really go all out on the roleplay for the giant challenges.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 03:24:17

The second part of the first 2 part adventure for this season. This leans a lot on the exploration and puzzle aspect of D&D, and is basically a dungeon crawl. I won't recommend it if your players crave for social interaction, because those are few and far in-between in this adventure. The puzzles (of which there are a lot) range from easy, clever, to somewhat difficult. In my experience it also runs significantly longer than 2 hours, and the party will need some reliable way of findig traps and secret doors and opening them.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 03:17:58

The first part of the first two part adventure of the season. It is very interesting, and I like how the introduction makes the adventure seem like one thing (fight the hobgoblins) and then when you get to the marsh it turns into something else. I know the adventure is for levels 1-4, but I would recommend that players be levels 3-4 when doing this, because the combat encounters can be difficult.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 03:09:04

Ah, now I like this adventure very much because it is a good old-fashioned mystery. It just demonstrates quite well that not every module in AL hinges on combat, though this one has its fair share. The interaction with the river can be especially amusing, but the adventure also really leans in on the exploration pillar of D&D with all the various skill checks you can and need to use to find and decipher clues.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-05 A Dish Best Served Cold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 03:03:30

Ooh, I enjoyed running and playing this adventure. I enjoyed the various possible encounters included in the adventure because of the potential that the it will feel fresh every time you run it because of the encounters on the way to rescue the dwarves. It's a healthy mix of exploration and combat, though I feel in most sessions the social interaction with those dwarves can be shortchanged due to the lack of time.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
by Paulo A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2017 02:55:14

Again this is a fun adventure to run for new players because it engages the 3 pillars of D&D, but it will really be fun if you have a RP heavy group, because the encounters with Thornicious and the fae lean into the social aspect.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 2559 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG