Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc.
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Louis Porter Jr. Design Haven: City of Violence Polymecha
Image Portfolio
D20 Shakespeare Lost Classes Modern Day Maps



Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 21:01:53

If you are a DM who is a bit of a ham, then this is your chance to RP the heck out of a module. Figuring out the puzzles can be distracting for a party, so be prepared to offer hints. But the giant challenge section is a blast to RP out. And the story award available to characters who have played all of the Tier 1, Season 5 adventures is a lot of fun as well. I love to see a little bonus reward to serious and committed players who attend regularly. Some decent combat, but lots of RP fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-10 Giant Diplomacy (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:58:24

I would have preferred to see Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (DDAL05-06) and this adventure combined into a 4 adventure. The second half of this story becomes a dungeon crawl, but it requires a lot of intelligent thought from the PCs, not just a series of die rolls. And if you have an unbalanced party, this can get really messy and frustrating fast. Still nice to run, but brush up on your maps skills - not a good adventure for theater of the mind.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-07 Chelimber's Descent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:55:06

Straight forward and to the point-explore and fight. Part 1 of the 2 Chelimber adventures for the Tier 1 Parnast story arc for season 5. It canbe run separately or as a 2 parter. Not much options here for the party - make some nice rolls while exploring and it can get easy. A couple of fights, and they are ready for part 2. Not the most challenging adventure, but a good setup for the second part - DDAL05-07.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-06 Beneath the Fetid Chelimber (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:52:05

Another adventure in the Parnast story arc. The NPCs give the players a mission, and turn them loose. Some choices will have to be made, and depending on the party's choice, the DM will have to select the appropriate outcome. Nicely written, I enjoyed playing some of the NPCs as pompous and overbearing. HAH! Back at you PCs. You are not the only cocky people in Faerun! Can run a little long, but still fun to DM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 20:48:49

I enjoyed playing and DMing the 3 story arcs for the Season 5 adventures. The Tiers are a series of interconnected adventures that can be played as stand alones, or as a part of the story arc. Tier 1 is set around Parnast, a town that has seen better days. The adventure here gets you to town, and has some nice combat and RP elements. I felt it was a nice combination and gave the players some options to go off script a bit. A nice setup for the rest of the arc. Plus I enjoy RPing the NPCs more when I know they will pop up in later adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
by Giorgio P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 09:21:15

Un'ottima avventura introduttiva, facilmente gestibile soprattutto per giocatori neofiti. Unica pecca: è particolarmente lunga, impossibile affrontare tutti e 5 gli scenari in appena 5 ore; comunque con un pò di gioco collaborativo tra piu tavoli si riesce a completare il modulo. 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-01 A City on the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Swords & Spells (0e)
by george c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 20:09:45

I got the print copy of this book and I am very happy with the quality!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Swords & Spells (0e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX03-14 Death on the Wall (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 17:08:37

I confess, this is a weird one to rate. On the one hand, the PCs who had done all of the other Tier 1, Season 3 adventures were all in. On the second hand, the new player at the table could not grasp/come to grips with the mission. On the gripping hand, this is a nice RP adventure. You can totally get into the RP of the stealthy portion of the module. I enjoyed the writing, as it allowed the "clankers" of the group to get some RP/Stealth type opportunities. The final fight was ... unusual. My group ended with separate combats, with the faction assignments coming into play i.e. "NO, DON'T KILL HIM!!!" I actually thought that the build up would make the boss a bit tougher (lair actions?, but that is the joy of the DM - empower yourself to improve the NPC to make it a fight.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX03-14 Death on the Wall (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:57:42

Personally, I had a blast whether I was a player or a DM. Quite a bit of RP at the beginning, and a really big fight at the end. Quite honestly, you could easily TPK in the boss fight. I love to reward inspiration if players get into the RP, and my group went whole hog. Every one of my players had at least 1 inspiration, which they all used in the boss fight (mainly for saves). The final fight can be scaled according to your group, as all DDEX modules can be, but forcing PC vs. PC combat can get really weird for a group if they are not experienced.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-12 Hillsfar Reclaimed (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:50:59

A nice detective story with a solid fight at the end. Performing the investigation is straightforward - with a fight if the party goes that direction. IF, and I do mean IF, the party succeeds on their perception checks this can run faster than expected, as they will encounter the boss fight early. I personally buffed it up a bit to make it a challenge. (Strong versus average). I liked it, but I wish the party had been more straight forward in their approach and taken on everything the module had to offer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:44:54

Disclaimer-I have only run this once, and with a weak party. I love the concept - a creepy and mysterious carnival! Who doesn't have flashbacks of the county fair as a kid? Trying to herd the cats of my group was a challenge - all they wanted to do was fight. A great adventure for RP though. I had a blast. And the magic item was fun - I had a bard in the group who used it well in later adventures "Oh God, not that again???" And if you get the chance to play the related CCC, then this is an awesome lead in. High for a RP group, low averae for a combat group.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
by Aaron N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 16:38:59

A nice outdoors adventure. Lots of choices to be made from the PC perspective. That being said, I have never managed to run this in less than 5 hours. The chase sequence with a large party can get bogged down really badly (especially if the party or a single PC tries something outside the box) The final fight is almost a letdown after the big chase. If you have a lot of Zhents playing CN, then the module can take a totally different direction, which may require a lot of DM improvisation. Still, it was fun to run.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-05 Bane of the Tradeways (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:25:05

I had massive apprehension about running this module, hearing most requires more than an hour. Turns out, it's true, but surprisingly not by that much if you can set the pace. All said and done though, the 5 modules do not appear to be of equal quality. The Lords' Alliance mission (1) is actually the kindest to the players and the DM, giving you (DM) appropriate advice on how to keep players well-rewarded (both in story and in terms of not spending too much real life time) for utilising their resources well. The Zhentarim (3) is one of the most well-written but also the most vexing, with minimum clues given on how to guide the players away from potential traps and towards what they wish to look for. I personally enjoyed the Emerald Enclave one (2) the most, given the role-playing potential and the actual feeling that you're doing something constructive, and most players of like mind would agree.

Also, do note that when they say the adventure is optimised for level 5 characters, they're really not kidding. Level 5 PCs would find the challenge decent and rewarding, but higher level ones may be turned off by how easy it is (even if you use the Hard settings). Do adjust appropriately, keeping in mind your player tendencies.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-02 Over the Edge (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:17:24

Despite the 5-star rating, I'd give due warning first: the adventure is most enjoyable if you're willing to let go of the 2-hours that it's supposed to be run for. The craziness of sending 3-7 adventurers to rescue 20+ dwarves from 30+ ogres aside, there are incredible potential in this module, allowing PCs to employ plenty of creativity. Do push them for the Set Piece finale, the players would really thank you for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Siu K. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2017 02:12:55

An adventure that brings plenty of excitement into what would otherwise be a trope - caravan guarding. The sandstorm encounter is especially well-written, allowing players to employ their creativity and use whatever limited resources they have. Thinking out of the box is highly encouraged here, and I do recommend a liberal attitude when it comes to rewarding players for good roleplay and creativity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 3507 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG