Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc.
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Louis Porter Jr. Design Haven: City of Violence Polymecha
Image Portfolio
D20 Shakespeare Lost Classes Modern Day Maps



Home » Catalyst Game Labs » Reviews
Browse









Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadowrun: Cutting Aces (Deep Shadows Sourcebook)
by Sean H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/20/2017 14:52:35

Shadowrun: Cutting Aces is a sourcebook for Shadowrun and provides an odd mixed bag of information on the metaplot and setting which providing more options for social-based characters and challenges. As it covers some neglected aspects of the Shadowrun world, such as the Middle East and social skills, it is probably a good investment for a GM but the book is so unfocused unless cons or Constantinople are the focus of your campaign, I cannot say that it should be a priority to acquire.

Shadowrun: Cutting Aces, is a Deep Shadows Sourcebook for the 5th edition of Shadowrun, this particular book covers a variety of sins, confidence games and swindlers, Constantinople (formerly Istanbul) and a bit more about current events in the Sixth World.

The book begins with one of the ubiquitous fiction sections, then moves into what is going on with the big megacorporations and the world, including the special election for the Governor of the Seattle Metroplex, what is going on with Spinrad Industries in the Middle East, too much news from Faerie, and -perhaps most importantly- what sorts of cons (and thus scenarios) the situations exposed are ripe for.

Next we have Constantinople, in all its glory, which lacks that most useful of props, a map of the city, the two and a half pages spent on the pre-21st century history of the city would have been better used for maps. Oddly, the Constantinople at a Glance sidebar neglects to mention what languages are used in the city. The city is full of interesting places and adventure potential and the new information blocks for NPCs scattered throughout look useful. It is rather off the usual beaten path for Shadowrunners and while the adventure seeds are interesting, more ways to tie the city into an ongoing campaign would have been useful.

After another fiction section, there is Alibi Artists of Constantinople, twelve interesting NPCs done in traditional NPC stat blocks, not the one used in the previous section which contains some information that should be folded into any NPC that can be used into a contact. This section then has a selection of life modules for those who wish to play confidence artists (and use that alternate character generation method).

The Art of Confidence covers just that, running down the basics of short and long cons. It is mostly a list of traditional cons, sometime with more modern names, and some idea of how they run. At best an overview of the subject but sufficient for the purpose of most games.

Gat and Glad Rags is the toys section with new weapons, clothing (armored mostly), modification to armor, gear including many things that can be useful in a con (tailored perfume, social subscription software), a handful of smaller drones. Information for Sale lists the price to acquire various types of information that can be of use to con artists and shadowrunners both. A selection of new qualities, both positive and negative, almost all social oriented follows. Next a few new adept powers (three) and spells (four). Then it sets up the expanded social interaction section with new “social maneuvers” that really could have been better defined and structured. And this section then ends with a shift into a list of five character (personality) archetypes.

The next section, the Grifter’s Bible, is the rules section starting with Factional Reputation, that is how particular groups see you and what you can use such reputation for. A good idea but possibly too much of a bookkeeping chore as written. Expended rules for social skills detail, maybe excessively, the value of things when Negotiating prices for services (i.e. a run) or selling gear or information. Rules and structure for using the Con skill to actually run cons. Some advice on using Intimidation in the game. And the world thing ends with a page and a half example of the new social rules in action.

Cutting Aces is a interesting resource providing new tools for the GM, and possibly for the players, but it is scattered, covering a lot of ground in different directions. However, maps for the city and tables for the social maneuvering would have made this product more useful.

Note: Read more reviews and other gaming articles at my journal https://seaofstarsrpg.wordpress.com/



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Cutting Aces (Deep Shadows Sourcebook)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
by Simon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2017 15:45:40

No problem with the PDF on Android 7 or latest iOS. I use the built in PDF viewer in Dropbox without a problem. As much as I love the printed books, PDF is so much easier to search.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/18/2017 23:12:10

the file was corrupted. If I recive a refund I many consider raising my reivew



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
by Ashlyn C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2017 15:21:19

Completely worthless, won't open on mobile or tablet with either Adobe or Google pdf viewers. Won't ever be using drivethruRPG again.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Forbidden Arcana (Advanced Magic Rulebook)
by Simon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2017 20:05:32

Interesting! Not the best shadowrun product ever but it certainly has it's charms. Updates and adds a number of new magic rules and variants, such as sub groups and sub paths, details on various traditions of magic with bonuses and penalties. Newly discovered paths of magic are interesting and the addition of a dark grey but not inherently evil set of blood magic rules feels appropriate for shadowrunners.

There are a few typos here and there, nothing major, and also a couple of rule changes or additions that definitely should be up to the GM if they include them in the game or not (and one which I wondered if it was also a typo. Since when can Mystic Adepts not craft? I agree they're a little overpowered as is but I tend to default to the old fourth edition method of mana OR chi rather then allowing them to buy both for each point of magic). Overall I think it's a worthwhile product... though I hesitate to recommend it to everyone at the current price point. It's not too high but I think it's a little too high for an automatic buy.

One reason I might be going a little easy on this (and I want prospective buyers to be aware of that) is I'm a sucker for the metaplot. Minor Spoiler Alert ,

without giving anything away this book has some interesting metaplot moments, including one which necessitates the involvement of Laughing Man, Wordsmyth, AND Orange Queen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Forbidden Arcana (Advanced Magic Rulebook)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

BattleTech: House Steiner: The Lyran Commonwealth
by Christopher D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2017 11:32:32

Scan is very poor quality. Also the map for the Steiner planets in the back fold-out was not included in the scan. That is critical for understanding where planets are located, borders with other Houses, etc.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: House Steiner: The Lyran Commonwealth
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

BattleTech: Era Digest: Dark Age
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2017 15:33:20

This book gives you information on the early conflicts and state of the Inner Sphere during the early Dark Age era of BattleTech (3131-3135), including notable personalities of splinter groups during that period and a history and timeline of events between 3132 and 3134, as well as two new 'Mechs and a new vehicle. All of this information included in the book is done well for the size of the book.

However, I did find one key problem with the portion regarding making characters in A Time of War. All of the affiliations require Era Report 3145 to create a character (unless your character somehow happens to be from the Deep Periphery or Homeworld Clans). Having purchased this book for that specific reason (and not owning Era Report 3145 or Field Manual 3085), I am very disappointed in that part of the book. The rest of the information about actually role-playing during this era (once you have a character) is done fairly well.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Era Digest: Dark Age
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Shadowrun: Book of the Lost (A Shadowrun Campaign Book)
by Julien P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2017 09:20:15

So, I finished reading Book of the Lost, and I really enjoyed it. Dozens of adventure and campaign ideas formed in my mind as I was reading, which I think was the whole point, but it worked. A lot of the proposed stories and plots are very interesting (and I like how the writers used this opportunity to advance a few old metaplots as well). Even something that could have been silly (Taco Temple) was actually quite intriguing and mysterious. Last but not least, the puzzles and riddles hidden in the cards promise to be a lot of fun (and headaches) for runners and GM alike. Not to mention, of course, Echo Chernik's wonderful art.

That being said, there are two things I didn't like in the book:

  • Lack of clear distinction between chapters that can be read by everyone or are written from an in-universe perspective and chapters that are GM only. It goes back and forth between the two, and there are times when, within the same section of the book, you really can't tell anymore if you're reading Game Information or Jackpoint posts. I prefer when the GM-only info is gathered at the end of the books in a dedicated section.

  • The Power of the Cards chapter. While I understand the need to include something for players who want direct gains from collecting the Tarot cards, the proposed rewards often feel random and sometimes even, well, silly ("Lofwyr’s ten-ton gold coin", really? Does it simply appear from thin air in front of the runners? Yet the first lines of the chapter clearly states teleportation is impossible in Shadowrun...) Fortunately this section is only 9 pages long.

As a whole, the idea of the Tarot, and the kind of adventures and riddles it creates feel original, different and unexpected for Shadowrun. It will definitely be too "out there" for some people, but after nearly 30 years, Shadowrun can benefit from some fresh weirdness. And who knows, it may even have what it takes to become memorable. Time (or the cards) will tell...



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Book of the Lost (A Shadowrun Campaign Book)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
by Donald B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2017 13:12:52

The rules were well organized and clearly written. I liked the examples and stories. I am very glad I have the PDF because it is over 500 pages. This is a complex rule system that can create a wide range of characters. I want more information about the Native American Nations and other political entities beyond the big 10 corporations. It would help me in developing character back stories. It would provide more motivation for developing ideas for campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Fifth Edition Core Rulebook (Master Index Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

BattleTech: Record Sheets: Total Warfare Style 3055 Upgrade Unabridged
by Michael m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 09:27:00

I am glade that they added variants of these mechs that were created in the 3060's. It helped to keep these mechs relevant. That was an upgrade over the old record sheets. The problem is none of the mechs have a price value, but the clan mechs do show free case in there left and right torso.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Record Sheets: Total Warfare Style 3055 Upgrade Unabridged
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

BattleTech: Total Warfare Style Record Sheets: 3058 Upgrade Unabridged Inner Sphere
by Michael m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2017 09:18:43

I am glade that they added variants of these mechs that were created in the 3060's. It helped to keep these mechs relevant. That was an upgrade over the old record sheets. I gave it a 4 because they don't have the prices for all the units they are missing the prices for 5 vehicles, and 5 mechs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Total Warfare Style Record Sheets: 3058 Upgrade Unabridged Inner Sphere
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Shadowrun: Anarchy
by Mark G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2017 16:44:46

The concept of a rules light Shadowrun variant appealed a lot to me, but unfortunately this book follows the approach of not actually trying and planning and testing and making effort to derive a working system with few rules, but just not bothering to write very many rules and then expecting the GM to fill in the holes - and even being snooty about it in the process. There is actually, no kidding, a paragraph that insults the reader if they ask why a particular rule is vague. But hey, don't worry, it's not like that rule's interpretation determines the value of an upgrade which costs 50% of your starting points or anything. Oh, wait..

So, the great "Cue System" that this book is based on, is actually just a very slight variant of the attribute+skill dice pool system from the original SR with most of the details cut out. There are Plot Points, which let you do.. things.. in that the game gives a few examples of things they might do, but not a decent list. That's ok, though, because there are almost no rules at all for how you get them other than "the GM gives them out". There's also Cues, which.. well, do absolutely nothing. Yes, the system is named after something with no effect whatsoever. It vaguely suggests you might write down a few sentences that represent your character to inspire you when you're playing. That's it.

About the only neat concept that does appear here is Shadow Amps. Essentialy, this combines hacking, magic, cyberware, special gear, and all of the other disparate systems from the original Shadowrun into a single system of "stuff which gives you advantages". This could have worked well if what it was attached to wasn't so threadbare.

You don't need this book. If you and your group can RP a cyberpunk game successfully with this faint breath of a system, then you might as well just make everything up as you go along. If you want rules light cyberpunk with systems that have actually thought through how to be rules light, try Interface Zero Fate or The Veil.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowrun: Anarchy
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

BattleTech: Record Sheets: 3058 Upgrade
by Michael m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2017 15:55:05

Garbage don't buy, you only get 1 example of each mech, it is a limited dumb down version of technical readouts. It is even lacking the normal fluff from tech readouts, I am ashamed Catalyst did this.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Record Sheets: 3058 Upgrade
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

BattleTech: Record Sheets: 3055 Upgrade
by Michael m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2017 15:54:32

Garbage don't buy, you only get 1 example of each mech, it is a limited dumb down version of technical readouts. It is even lacking the normal fluff from tech readouts, I am ashamed Catalyst did this.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Record Sheets: 3055 Upgrade
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

BattleTech: Experimental Technical Readout: Primitives, Vol. 1
by Michael m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2017 15:49:19

I have found a few problems with the age of war technical readouts. The first problem is you don't gain access to the building system used for the vehicles, aero, or mechs, and any battletech fan knows that is half the fun of battletech. The second issue is these books are tiny, roughly 1/5 of a Fasa sized tech readout. Spending 25-30 dollars for all of them for a digital copy is just not worth it. I bought the 1st and 2nd and will not bother with any of the others.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
BattleTech: Experimental Technical Readout: Primitives, Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 938 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG