Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc.
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Louis Porter Jr. Design Haven: City of Violence Polymecha
Image Portfolio
D20 Shakespeare Lost Classes Modern Day Maps



Home » White Wolf » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Changeling: the Dreaming Introductory Kit
by Tommaso C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2017 11:35:20

(sorry for my bad english) Briefly, I found this introductory kit very involving and satisfying. It's only a preview but you can notice the White Wolf is creating a deeper but also lighter rule system, in particular for the Banality and Bedlam system. Faster but all dedicated to roleplaying. Personally there are some general rules (not the Chengeling's rules, but the general system rule of all the new edition) that don't excite me. But as I said, that's personal. This introductory kit convinced me donate them some money in the Kickstarter site. I think White Wolf can really bring back Changelings to their fairy golden age with this! The only "flaw" White Wolf should "correct" is the number of Kiths: add (or bring back) some others!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Dreaming Introductory Kit
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Stained Glass Grid
by Someone M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2017 07:39:17

It's just what you see on the cover, the seven coloured grids. The author didn't provide even an introduction explaining what is this useful for.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Stained Glass Grid
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Creator Reply:
The product receive updates and is better in quality and receive the introduction and explanation
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
by Matthew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2017 17:45:11

A fantastic compedium for Vampire. This is a bit of a late review as I got the book a few months ago, but it is brilliant. I got the standard print hard cover, and for a cheaper option, the book still serves its purpose perfectly. In the future I may consider buying premium color print books simply to support the folks here at DriveThruRpg.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Masquerade 20th Anniversary Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Vampire: The Dark Ages Logos
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2017 09:35:53

Not that i am not grateful for wasted download volume i have to pay for. Still this package has identical content, when compared with the 'SV Logos' package.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire: The Dark Ages Logos
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Rites of the Wilds
by Jerome L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/07/2017 23:44:58

First comment: Lhiannan love! That is so sooo rare that I had to comment on it. The only two problems I had with this were the minor formatting issues and the fact it was a little thin. I would have gladly paid more for a few more pages beefing up some pagan specific rituals. But overall this really looks like an authentic addition to V:tM blood magic. Very well done



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rites of the Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

MrGone's Clanbook: Nahema Character Sheets
by Travis L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/06/2017 10:23:34

These high-quality, interactive sheets are AMAZING! They include the level of detail and utility that Mr. Gone's sheets have displayed for YEARS, and are a prime example of why his work is a fan favorite! I'm flattered, humbled, and excited to have Clan Nahema among the sheets in his body of work!

THANK YOU! Travis Legge Author, Clanbook Nahema



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
MrGone's Clanbook: Nahema Character Sheets
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Creator Reply:
You're very welcome! I'm so glad you're happy with how they turned out! I hope everyone enjoys them.
Clanbook Bilquis
by Mariza T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2017 05:36:45

This book is great, it looks so professional, like it's official material. The story in the intro is worth the price alone, I'm gonna check out more of his stuff for sure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook Bilquis
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the support, and again for the review!
The Curse Pole: A Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th One Page Chronicle Jumpstart: A SOURCEBOOK FOR VAMPIRE: THE DARK AGES 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
by Brandon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2017 10:04:13

Short version: A very nice, flexible, and well-written Jumpstart at a good price that's great for a one-shot or a springboard to something bigger.

  • The NPCs are a highlight here (and some of my personal favorites of all those throughout the various Storyteller Vault Jumpstarts) and I can actually see myself making use of them in the future. I don't normally care much for pre-made NPCs, but I think they lend themselves really well to micro-chronicles and story seeds like these.

  • Surprisingly good atmosphere crammed into a few pages. Really captures that Dark Ages feel, and the seeds presented could work equally well as an occult tale or a political whodunnit.

  • The different options presented for just what is going on and who is responsible offer this particular Jumpstart considerable flexibility. That said, by its very nature, it is written in such a way that one could easily substitute in their own NPCs, locations, or make tweaks to the plot as necessary.

  • Well-priced for what you get. If you enjoy jump-starts, this is certainly worth the money, and if you don't know if they might be for you, this one is definitely a good value to sate your curiosity.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Curse Pole:  A Vampire: The Dark Ages 20th One Page Chronicle Jumpstart: A SOURCEBOOK FOR VAMPIRE: THE DARK AGES 20TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Things Go Southy: One Page Chronicle Jumpstart
by Brandon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2017 09:34:31

Short version: this is exactly what promises to be, and if it sounds like something you want, it almost certainly is.

I was initially skeptical of whether or not I would have any use for something like this, but the low price encouraged me to give it a shot. Not only am I glad I did, but I made it a point to grab the others in the series as a result.

The actual PDF is 11 pages, including covers. As advertised, the Jumpstart itself is a single page, with the rest devoted largely to NPC bios and character sheets. It all looks good, but what impressed me was just how much the book is able to accomplish with that single page of JumpStart. You get just enough information on the setting, the forces in play, and a story seed to, well, jump off from there, and it's surprisingly effective. The NPCs are well put together, and could easily be useful beyond this chronicle if one so desired.

For my part, I've never been a big module guy. I prefer to just get inspiration or broad ideas from sources and then put my own story together from there, and these seem to be written with that approach in mind. Great as a one shot or a springboard, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for either of those.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Things Go Southy: One Page Chronicle  Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Dark Ages: Vampire Second Edition Templates
by Andre M. P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2017 21:27:01

Guys & Girlies: YOU are the professionals! Someone from down at the base (or a notch deeper, as I earn no new money) should never be forced to explain mistakes banned in every 101 of the planet to you.

Separate your sex-club, or whatever personal predilection clouds your judgment, from your business sanity. Drug-tests for ALL employees, especially bosses and management, on a quarterly regular. Monthly would be better, but otherwise we will mail each other from one bum shelter to the next withdrawal clinic in the damn near future. Literally, out of character...

In an age of mobile devices you dish us badly compressed files, mixture of PC & Macintosh, Gigabytes of wasted download volume for all who seriously accept your invitation?

Logos you demand to be in each file are absent in several of YOUR professional downloads, too? Come on! Trying to show the finger means you are just too sissy to admit you hate people from all lower income classes.

I ain't bluffing, when I state that ten minutes of my begging gather better skilled artists simply because I accidentally pause during peeing them off... And, if I learned to keep my part of each agreement, when precisely would you pros realize that is expected from each of you, too, 24/7 ???

To summarize a basic creed about actually working the unpaid part of the ST vault: White Wolf should learn to focus on regaining lost customers & acquiring new ones (which is by enticement, and not by marketing idiocy). Instead they waste even more welcome.

Ok, lets compromise, give my outrages & my name as much place in official products, as you gave that Witch Finder author for his pestering with the own sexual insecurity straight in a book on Hunters vs Witches...



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Ages: Vampire Second Edition Templates
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Rites of the Wilds
by Zachary B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2017 11:33:46

I like what is within this book content wise. The cover art is a great example of stepping outside the art offered to us by WW. The theme overall is fun and its nice to see others stepping into this realm and adding their own thoughts.

I will say the book greatly needs to be given a solid run through for editting purposes such as instances of "System:" not being bolded when necessary or odd breaks in descriptions for the rituals. One other thing that stands out is the pages are bordered with white on top and bottom of each page which really breaks up the flow of the book.

The price being a pay what you want is a large redeemer for some but its not something that I typically discount when rating content. (Even with these mistakes I'd pay probably up to $5 if the book is well done).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rites of the Wilds
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Creator Reply:
Cheers for the review Zachary! Those mistakes (formatting mostly, and the white bars) should be rectified. -A
Clanbook: Lungo Drom
by Josh H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2017 14:45:26

The Rroma have a tragic history in the World of Darkness, but I've seen some of the work that April put into this book along the way and I was super excited to see it up and ready for purchase. This is fantastic. This new bloodline is culturally senstive, interesting, and hell yes I am willing to use these characters in a game. The storytelling aspect of the discipline that the Lundo Drom utilize makes sense. It's also thematically really interesting. It also makes me want to create a connection between the Daughters of Cacophany and the Lungo Drom, which would be thematically really fascinating for a Victorian Era game, that bridges modern and Dark Ages.

Well done. This is worth every penny you pay for it.

The layout is great, the discipline is awesome (so are the combo powers), and the story hooks are fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Clanbook: Lungo Drom
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Menagerie of Mortals
by Zachary B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2017 12:56:29

This book has a number of great NPC listings and it'll be a great reference for players and STs alike. The main advantages of this book are for new STs looking for something quick and easy to insert. I especially love the addition of the idea of Bouquet and the flavor and sensations behind each Victim section. It really adds a lot to the Feeding scenes as do Memory Flashes.

That being said I have noticed that the one thing, some NPCs listed might in some ST's opinions possess too many Abilities or some in areas they might have too high a rating. That being said an ST can easily adjust on the fly without worrying about that.

The only other thing I would love to see is bookmarks and hyperlinks for the pages in the Table of Contents.

Overall this is one of those books I'd say a new ST should pick up for sure or even players for wrapping their heads around what others in the World of Darkness NPC wise might be like. Plus it makes a great gift to an ST!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Menagerie of Mortals
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Rose City by Night
by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 10:00:08

Extremely impressive, not least because of expanded rules involving Feeding as well as an intricate background for the entire city. The author cleverly left room to fit in NPCs as well as of course Player Characters, while carefully not insisting on exact numbers of Cainites in Portland. That seems left up to Storytellers. Likewise she created a set of situations where Player Characters might fit right in, pretty much regardless of Clan or allegiance. Especially nice is the sense of place, of a city that "feels older than it is" with lots of wiggle room to expand on the backstory we know.

I do think the original artwork she used works better overall than that from the Art Packs offered, while for my taste I wish more attention were included to how the different NPCs interact (on the other hand the "ongoing prelude" throughout gave a very nice hint of such).

Given its sheer size, I cannot but think the author has underpriced her product! Especially since this book really functions as two--one which gives the background of Portland in the World of Darkness but also as an exploration of something that remains integral to vampires yet also under-explored in the game (at least in my experience).

Bravo!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Rose City by Night
Click to show product description

Add to Louis Porter, Jr. Design, Inc. Order

Rose City by Night
by Patrick D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 05:54:11

An excellent new setting for the World of Darkness.

Portland, with its scarcity of resources and political distance from other settings, acts as a terrifying new frontier for those looking for a challenge. The sample adventure, "As the Blood Flows" acts as a great launching point into the cities politics, characters, and unique dangers.

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1777 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DrivethruRPG